Top 5 most anticipated releases in the second half of the year

5

June 14, 2016 by Zoë

1. Goldenhand by Garth Nix
Release date: October 11, 2016
Another Old Kingdom book! I enjoyed Clariel a lot, but I’m excited to get back to Lirael and find out what’s going on now. I also just love the Old Kingdom: so much good world building and interesting stuff going on. And I love Garth Nix’s writing in general. He’s one of my top five favorite authors of all time.
2. Shiny Broken Pieces by Sona Charaipotra & Dhonielle Clayton
Release date: July 12, 2016
Ballet drama. I basically try to read any book about ballet that I can find, so of course I’ve read the first one in this duology. I enjoyed it but didn’t like the ending because nothing was actually resolved. As a result, I’ve been waiting almost a year for the next book to come out so I can finally have my resolution.
3. The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May
Release date: June 21, 2016
I liked the first book in this series well enough and at the very least really appreciated the premise, so I’m excited to read the next one. I had issues with the first book too, though, so we’ll see how this goes.
4. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
Release date: September 27, 2016
From the synopsis it’s actually really hard to tell what this book is about. But I also don’t care. I really enjoyed Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. She has a really nice writing style and the series itself was also enjoyable. I’m excited to see what she writes next.
5. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir
Release date: August 30, 2016
I enjoyed the first book in this series well enough and I’m excited to see where it goes. Helene, especially, was a fun take on the now-tropey strong female heroine. I also found the world building fun and I’m ready to see what the rest of the series has in store.

Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

5 thoughts on “Top 5 most anticipated releases in the second half of the year

  1. I really need to read the first book in the series from Sabaa Tahir. My Most Anticipated.

  2. I had completely forgotten we were getting another Old Kingdom novel! I can’t wait for A Torch Against the Night I loved the first book and I can’t wait to see what happens next.

    The Vanishing Thrones is one of those books that I have seen in my bookshop in the larger sized edition, but I have been resisting buying it as it wouldn’t match my copy of book one. So I am happy that this book is finally coming out in the same edition that I bought book one (that sounds complicated but basically I want my books to match and now they will).

  3. I had the same thoughts for Strange the Dreamer but I’m actually digging that mysterious element to it!

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

  4. A Torch Against the Night! I’m hoping we get Helene’s POV – she was such an interesting character and I love her resilience and determination. <3

Comment

