Top 5 favorite 2016 releases so far this year

2

June 21, 2016 by Zoë

1. Games Wizards Play by Diane Duane
Diane Duane is my favorite author. She writes good books, but more than that she’s really smart and well-read, which means that her books are also really smart. I always start explaining the Young Wizards series by saying that they’re fantasy books that are actually more like science fiction. Sure, they’re all wizards, but they’re wizards who are doing math to figure out escape velocities and how much oxygen they need. I love these books. I love them.
2. Front Lines by Michael Grant
My love affair with Michael Grant and K. A. Applegate began, as with many readers my age, with the Animorphs series. Those books were fun and also dark and brutal when they needed to be. Since then, Michael Grant’s writing has continued to develop and Front Lines is just the latest in that progression. Not only does it have lots of well-developed characters, both male and female, it also tackles obvious issues of racism in a graceful manner.
3. The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury
Some of the reviews for The Sin Eater’s Daughter were not good, but I enjoyed it. I think I enjoyed the sequel even more. I liked the switch in viewpoint and the world opened up a lot more. I’m excited to see what happens next.
4. Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E. K. Johnston
I read this because it was a re-telling of a Shakespeare play and I wanted to see how that went. As it turned out, it was a really, really good story. It deals with rape and abortion in a really good, supportive manner, which was the whole reason the author wrote the book. Still, it was well done and managed not to be cheesy.
5. The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury
I did not expect to like this book. A re-telling of Aladdin with a female genie just sounded like there were too many ways for it to go wrong. It actually went really well, however. The story, overall, was constructed quite well with good world building and a fairly satisfying ending. There was some instalove, but you can’t have everything.

Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 favorite 2016 releases so far this year

  1. Oooh, I’m glad to see Exit, Pursued by a Bear here! I have the book and have started it. Have you read The Way I Used To Be? Would you say it’s a better book or would this one be it?

    I’ve also started The Forbidden Wish but haven’t finished it, haha. I was a few chapters in but felt like Zahra was too all-powerful and that the stakes weren’t high enough. Maybe I should try again, though…

    • Zoë says:

      I actually haven’t read any of E. K. Johnston’s other books, so can’t compare. Sorry!

      And I know what you mean about Zahra’s powers, but in the end I was fairly satisfied with how that played out.

Comment

