Review: All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

1

June 23, 2016 by Zoë

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda is about Cooley Ridge, a small town from which a girl named Corinne disappeared ten years ago. Everyone has moved on with their lives and Nic, at least, has moved away. Now that she has come back, though, another girl has gone missing and all the lies are beginning to fall apart.

This story’s gimmick is that it’s told in reverse, beginning fifteen days after Annaleise goes missing and working backwards through time as Nic tries to cope with everything. This gimmick sounded pretty concerning to me in terms of pacing, but it worked surprisingly well. At first I made a concerted effort to straighten the timeline out in my head and remember all the important revelations and the order in which they occurred, but that effort wasn’t actually needed. Everything was pretty clear and the timeline wasn’t confusing.

This turned out to be a pretty well-written psychological thriller. The final twist was a bit expected, but I enjoyed reading to find out how all the pieces fit together. There was a lot of forward momentum and I was hooked the whole way through.

I also enjoyed the writing style. While Nic had the tendency to wax lyrical in rather whiny ways, I overall really liked Megan Miranda’s diction and descriptions.

Another big plus, at least for me, was that Nic isn’t a teenager. She’s a graduate student, engaged, with an established life. This made the events and manipulation in the book much more believable and, for me, relatable. I want more books like this, but I’m not quite sure where to find them.

“We lived too close–too close to each other, too close to some mysterious edge, too reckless and invincible, too naive to our own moralities, just too. The talk: that maybe we brought it on ourselves.”

I received an electronic copy of this book through NetGalley.

One thought on “Review: All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

  1. Jenn Willis says:

    I just added this to my TBR list. Thank you for the great review.

Comment

