Top 10 gateway books/authors in my reading journey

Leave a comment

June 28, 2016 by Zoƫ

1. Promises by Nancy Richardson
This list is basically a progression of the most important books and authors in my reading journey, starting with the Junior Jedi Knights series. This was (and, frankly, still is) my favorite book in the series. It basically solidified Tahiri as my favorite Star Wars character of all time.
2. Running Out of Time by Margaret Peterson Haddix
I used to love this book. I read it a whole bunch of times and it probably also led into my reading of Haddix’s Shadow Children series, though Running Out of Time definitely came first for me.
3. Across the Wide and Lonesome Prairie by Kristiana Gregory
One of my favorite Dear America books, and probably my most favorite when I was really into them. This book also was part of a wider past obsession with the Oregon Trail in general, see also Rachel’s Journey by Marissa Moss.
4. The Visitor by K. A. Applegate
Ahh, Animorphs. I used to be obsessed with these books. Then I sort of outgrew them, but then like many fans I circled back around to them again. This is the first of the Animorphs books that I read, because I liked the cat on the cover. I had no idea what was happening in it, actually, and it really only made sense after going back and reading book one, which I did some time later.
5. Sandry’s Book by Tamora Pierce
My gateway into all of Tamora Pierce’s books. And since I read this one first, that’s probably why I’m partial to the Circle of Magic books even today. Emelan holds a charm for me that Tortall just doesn’t. Also I love Rosethorn.
6. Lightsabers by Kevin J. Anderson & Rebecca Moesta
At some point I graduated into the Young Jedi Knight books. Though I wasn’t as a rabid a fan of these books, particularly the later ones, I was a big fan of Tenel Ka. Sometimes I say that I like her better than Tahiri, but Tahiri came first.
7. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
This was on the list of potential summer reading books that my school handed out one year, and I read it on a whim. I was hooked. This opened me up to fantasy books even more, and for a long time I identified only as a fantasy reader.
8. So You Want to be a Wizard by Diane Duane
Did I want to be a wizard? Yes. Oh yes. Do I still follow Diane Duane avidly? Oh yes. I love her books.
9. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
I admit it, I do also like reading fun, silly chick lit. Mainly the Princess Diaries series, but I also read all the Alice books and the Jessica Darling books. Mia came first, though.
10. Lirael by Garth Nix
Potentially my first step into reading more adult fantasy, though I’m not sure if I’ve ever fully made the jump. I want more interesting female characters and less sex and that’s what Garth Nix does so well. Also I want a set of bells.

Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Comment

