Review: Look Both Ways by Alison Cherry

Leave a comment

August 1, 2016 by Zoë

Brooklyn is from a family of theater performers and is finally going to join their ranks properly and make them proud of her. In Look Both Ways by Alison Cherry, Brooklyn attends a prestigious theater summer camp with the goal of impressing her family. Unfortunately, things don’t go exactly as planned and she finds herself feeling out of place. To make things even more confusing, she has begun to develop feelings for her roommate, Zoe, that she doesn’t quite understand.

The Good
Overall, this was a fun, quick read that spoke to the theater nerd within me. It was nice to relax into a world where theater was so important and where Brooklyn and her family hung out and sang show tunes.

Obviously, a main focus of this book is the relationship between Brooklyn and Zoe, which I thought was well done. For one thing, it developed in a believable way, with the girls getting to know each other before they became infatuated with each other. The confusion and hurt feelings that both girls experienced at various points during the story were also quite believable. Even the ultimate issue that the girls faced (without giving too much away) rang true for me. Overall, I believed everything about Brooklyn’s feelings except quite how oblivious she was to how others felt about her.

Finally, I appreciated how supportive Brooklyn’s family was. While she struggles with her relationship with her family throughout the book, in the end they were supportive and welcoming, almost to the point of being unrealistic. It worked for me here, though, because as I already said, this was a quick, fun read.

The Bad
There’s a love triangle that goes on that I had some issues with stemming from Brooklyn’s obliviousness. And, like I said, Brooklyn’s family is very happy and supportive. Other than that, I don’t have much negative commentary.

The Verdict
This is a light summer read that isn’t just a lesbian romance but also explores more facets of coming to terms with one’s sexual identity. If that sounds good to you, go check it out!

“I wish I could ask her how she feels, but I’m not sure how to do that without sounding ridiculous. Hey, straight roommate with a boyfriend, remember that time you put your mouth on my mouth? Can you explain the subtext of that to me, please?”

Comment

