5 Books I Want to Buy

1

August 2, 2016 by Zoƫ

Let it be known that I am very conservative about buying books. I almost always check a book out from the library for its first read and I don’t go on to buy it unless I think I will want to re-read it again, probably multiple times. I also wait to buy paperback books because I like the feel of them in my hands much better than the hardcover versions. As a result, I wait a looong time before I actually buy a book, which is why all the books on this list are old.

1. Clariel by Garth Nix
I am behind on buying the Old Kingdom books, as you will see from book number two on this list as well. Clariel was really good, though. Really good and really dark.
2. To Hold the Bridge by Garth Nix
Besides his Old Kingdom series, I am also a big fan of Garth Nix’s short stories. They’re not for everyone, but I really enjoy all the different worlds and settings that he comes up with.
3. Battle Magic by Tamora Pierce
I love Rosethorn. I love Rosethorn so much. I must own all the books with Rosethorn (even though I found this one a little disappointing).
4. Forever Princess by Meg Cabot
I thought that this was the end to the Princess Diaries series until Royal Wedding came out, which confused and pleased me. I don’t own all the books in the middle of the series, but I’d like to own this one.
5. Daughter of Venice by Donna Jo Napoli
I re-read this book every few years so it’s one that I should probably just buy. It’s the classic trope of a girl dressing as a boy and yet there’s so much more going on in this story about class and ethnicity and all sorts of things. It’s really good.

Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

One thought on “5 Books I Want to Buy

  1. I would agree that I like holding paperbacks more than hardbacks. But if it’s a book I really want to read, I would deal with a HB copy! ;) Nice list.

    My TTT: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/08/02/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-youd-buy-right-this-second-if-someone-handed-you-a-fully-loaded-gift-card/

Comment

