Favorite Book Quotations

3

August 9, 2016 by Zoë

“Yes,” he said. “You were strong. You were brave. You were good. You mattered.”

“You are so young, Lyra, too young to understand this, but I shall tell you anyway and you’ll understand it later: men pass in front of our eyes like butterflies, creatures of a brief season. We love them; they are brave, proud, beautiful, clever; and they die almost at once. They die so soon that our hearts are continually racked with pain. We bear their children, who are witches if female, human if not; and then in the blink of an eye they are gone, felled, slain, lost. Our sons, too. When a little boy is growing, he thinks he is immortal. His mother knows he isn’t. Each time becomes more painful, until finally your heart is broken, Perhaps that is when Yambe-Akka comes for you. She is older than the tundra. Perhaps for her, witches’ lives are as brief as men’s are to us.”

“Then tell Wind and Fire where to stop,” returned madame; “but don’t tell me.”

“When I was your age I met a man older than myself, quite a bit older. I fell in love with him. Really in love. I know people say it’s just puppy love at that age, but I was in love properly. It lasted for years. It was the most powerful feeling I can ever remember. At that age one has no defenses. It just overwhelmed me.”

“When in doubt,” the mage Numair Salmalin had taught the pages, “Shoot the wizard.”

“And we will cause it to be well-made, this Sacrifice. You, young and never loving; I, old and never loved. Such a Song the Sea will never have seen.”

“Two things cannot be in one place. Where you tend a rose, my lad, a thistle cannot grow.”

“I will love you forever; whatever happens. Till I die and after I die, and when I find my way out of the land of the dead, I’ll drift about forever, all my atoms, till I find you again…

“I’ll be looking for you, Will, every moment, every single moment. And when we do find each other again, we’ll cling together so tight that nothing and no one’ll ever tear us apart. Every atom of me and every atom of you…We’ll live in birds and flowers and dragonflies and in trees and in clouds and in those little specks of light you see floating in sunbeams…And when they use our atoms to make new lives, they won’t just be able to take one, they’ll have to take two, one of you and one of me, we’ll be joined so tight…”

“It can be said that we are all “star dust,” the product of heavy element generation within previous generations of stars.”

Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

3 thoughts on “Favorite Book Quotations

  1. Ellis Ferrell says:

    I chose to do Quotes as my TTT too! I love the ones you’ve chosen, so many great lines. I loved all the Tamora Pierce novels and the quote from The Secret Garden is beautiful.

  2. Great post! :D I can’t wait to get to The Golden Compass; I only hear great things! Happy reading!

Comment

