Books to be read before school starts

5

August 23, 2016 by Zoë

I’m currently participating in two readathons: Bout of Books and the Pokémon readthon, so hopefully I’ll get a lot of reading done in between everything else.

1. The Forbidden Orchid by Sharon Biggs Waller
Historical fiction that sounds like it’s set in China. I’m curious to see how this one turns out.
2. The Radiant Road by Katherine Catmull
I got this out of the library because I liked the cover, but also it has to do with fairies and magic and Ireland, so I’m in.
3. Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier
This is a retelling of “The Wild Swans,” which is one of my most favorite fairy tales. And it’s been on my TBR for literally forever but I still haven’t gotten around to it. Maybe this time…!
4. Alice in Blunderland by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
I’m going through and reading all the young Alice books (there are only a few), just so that I can feel complete.
5. Lovingly Alice by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
Here’s the list in the young Alice books. Then who knows? Maybe I’ll re-read the whole series. (But probably not.)
6. A Practical Wedding by Meg Keene
I don’t know why I’m reading a wedding planning book, I just am, okay?
7. The Du Lac Chronicles by Mary Anne Yarde
Vaguely Arthurian stuff with a girl on the cover. I requested this a loooong time ago on NetGalley and I need to actually read it.
8. The Ballroom by Anna Hope
I requested this one on NetGalley too, though I’m not sure why. Something about the description interested me, so we’ll see where it goes.
9. The Next Together by Lauren James
I am really into books about reincarnation, though I haven’t seen it done well yet. Maybe in this one.

Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

5 thoughts on “Books to be read before school starts

  1. Hope you like The Next Together! I didn’t like it and thought it was very unsatisfying, but I know others who love it, haha. I’ve only really ever seen reincarnation done well in one book – it’s such a difficult trope to handle. :/

    • Zoë says:

      Ooh what was the one reincarnation book that you liked?

      • I’m a bit hesitant to say it because the reincarnation bit is actually a spoiler of the book, but I’ll say that it’s a fairly popular new release this year, it’s fantasy, and it got quite a lot of hype. :P

        If you don’t mind spoilers I’ll tell you the title, though.

  2. Ellis Ferrell says:

    Wow, you’ve got some beautiful covers and great summaries here. I think I’m going to had to add the first 3 to my own list.

Comment

