Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a comment

September 4, 2016 by Zoë

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas is the second book in the Court of Thorns and Roses series. After a cataclysmic confrontation Under the Mountain, Feyre has returned to the Summer Court with Tamlin. However, she is shattered after everything that happened with Amarantha and finds herself struggling to cope even though she and Tamlin both managed to survive. Meanwhile, there is the deal she made with Rhysand, drawing her to the Night Court for a week every month.

The Good
I love fantasy with fey. This genre is a huge weakness of mine and it’s hard for me to be at all subjective when reading about fairies. And so I really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed the romps through the different kingdoms. I enjoyed all the ancient magic and strange fairies with secrets. I enjoyed the mysterious allure fey have. I enjoyed the politicking (though there wasn’t a lot of it). Basically, I had a really good time reading this book.

Also, some of the creepiness in the romance from the last book is resolved, or at least addressed.

The Bad
So this thing about “mates” comes up in this book. I don’t remember it at all in the last book, but I read it a long time ago so maybe I forgot. At any rate, I hated this plot point. I thought it was unnecessary and just a way to push Feyre into action because it was already “destined.” Ugh. Maybe if destiny had been a huge theme from the beginning I could accept this, but I just didn’t buy it and it certainly dampened my enjoyment of the latter part of the book.

The Verdict
Essentially, this book is a fantasy. It’s also part of the fantasy genre, but what it is is a fantasy of a normal teenage girl swept up into fairyland and becoming someone important. It’s like Twilight but with fairies. And probably also better written. So know that’s what it is going into it and you’ll enjoy it. But just keep that in mind. I have a lot more to say about this, but I’m going to save it for another more general post in the coming weeks. For now, these are my quick thoughts.

“The girl who had needed to be protected, who had craved stability and comfort…she had died Under the Mountain. I had died, and there had been no one to protect me from those horrors before my neck snapped. So I had done it myself.”

Comment

