Feature and Follow: A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

Leave a comment

September 9, 2016 by Zoƫ

I had to read A Tale of Two Cities for school, which was already a strike against it. I used to be very bitter about being forced to read books instead of being allowed to pick them on my own, so I never went into the experience ready to like the book.

Once I started reading, things got worse. It was my first time reading a true Dickens novel (we had to read A Christmas Carol a few grades before, but does that really count?) and I found the book boring and verbose. Plus, the female characters were not very plentiful and also not interesting. (Except for Madame Defarge. More on her later.)

Then came the third part of the book. And suddenly I was hooked. It became like a soap opera. Everyone was connected. Everything was connected. I needed to know what would happen next. I finished the book in one sitting. I loved it.

And I loved it mainly because of Madame Defarge. She’s an awesome character. Strong and angry and wrong and so amazing. I fully believe that Dickens didn’t really know what he was working with when he wrote her. His treatment of female characters in general is very twisted, but I will forever stand by Madame Defarge as one of my favorite characters ever.

Meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee.

Comment

