Five Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately

5

November 8, 2016 by Zoƫ

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

“The Snow Queen” retold with influences from Asian folklore and mythology. Does that sound awesome or what? No cover yet and expected publication sometime in 2017. I can’t wait!

The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

“Beauty and the Beast” set in World War II Germany. Also has a lot of finding-lost-love themes, so that plays into another big subset of folklore/mythology that I like.

Retold edited by The Book Smugglers

I’ve been meaning to read this for so long now. Fairy tales retold. Plus, The Book Smugglers seems like a pretty cool publishing company. At least their calls for submissions always seem really interesting.

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld

From what I hear, this retelling keeps pretty close to the original Pride and Prejudice, but the summary interested me enough that I want to check it out.

The Bird and the Sword by Amy Harmon

This just happens to be the only non-retelling I’ve added to my TBR list in a while. From the summary, though, it sounds like it’s heavily influenced by fairy tale themes, so it still fits into the sort of books I’ve been browsing lately. It sounds lovely!

Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

5 thoughts on “Five Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately

  1. readerlygeek says:

    I just bought Eligible at a library book sale. I cannot pass up a Pride and Prejudice retelling so I’m definitely looking forward to reading it!

  2. @lynnsbooks says:

    Retold looks good! And I also liked the look of Eligible when it was originally released. I might have to go and add that one to my wishlist. I like a good retelling.
    Lynn :D

  3. Katy Sauer says:

    The Bird and the Sword sounds really interesting. I’m also curious about Retold, I’ve been trying more story collections recently and I’ve been looking for more to check out. Thanks for sharing your list!

  4. LHauser27 says:

    Hi! Curtis Sittenfeld is great. I’ll have to check out that book!
    My TTT
    Leslie

  5. I’ve heard Eligible is very good – definitely have to try it! :)

    Lauren @ Always Me

Comment

