Bibliophile Friday: 1989

6

November 18, 2016 by Zoë

Here are five books that were published in 1989. They also double as a good introduction to my eclectic reading tastes.

Lon Po Po by Ed Young

“Little Red Riding Hood” set in China.

Alice in Rapture, Sort Of by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

After reading the recently-published middle grade Alice books, I can now say that I’ve read all of the Alice books. It’s crazy how long this series lasted!

Classical Ballet Technique by Gretchen Ward Warren & Susan Cook

A really, really comprehensive book on ballet. Lots and lots of photos. Really great. Also really huge.

Infinity Welcomes Careful Drivers by Grant Naylor

The first in a series of Red Dwarf novels. It was actually quite good. I’m planning on reading the others…eventually.

Afternoon of the Elves by Janet Taylor Lisle

Hillary doesn’t believe all the mean things she hears about Sara-Kate. Sure, she wears weird clothes and she lives in a dumpy house, but if Sara-Kate’s as bad as everyone says, how could she take such good care of the elf village in her backyard? She and Hillary spend hours fixing the tiny stick houses and the miniature Ferris wheel so the elves won’t move away. But as Hillary is drawn further into Sara-Kate’s world, she learns there are other mysteries besides the elves. Why doesn’t anyone ever see Sara-Kate’s mother? And why isn’t anyone allowed in her house?

I want to believe, so I loved this book and was totally down with the elves. And also somehow allowed the darker themes to coexist. Which I think is the beauty of this book: it’s aimed at an age where fantasy still exists alongside reality. And it just works really well.

If you haven’t read this book and it at all sounds interesting, I definitely encourage you to check it out! Also, according to Goodreads, there’s an “updated edition?” I can’t comment on that, but maybe I need to find it.

Meme hosted by Foxes and Fairy Tales and Whoo Gives a Hoot.

6 thoughts on “Bibliophile Friday: 1989

  1. whoogivesahootblog says:

    I included Alice the Brave in my Bibliophile Friday post! I started reading these books when I was just 8 years old and I absolutely loved these books from beginning to end! Thank you so much for taking the time to participate in this weeks addition of Bibliophile Fridays and I can’t wait to see next weeks post! :) @whoogivesahoot

  2. Louise says:

    I’ve never read any of these but Lon Po Po and Afternoon of the Elves both sound really interesting. I wonder what the ‘updated edition’ means? The plot definitely sounds like something I’d enjoy.

  3. […] Books about World War II Books with great families Books published in 1989 […]

Comment

