Review: Doodletopia Fairies by Christopher Hart

Leave a comment

November 28, 2016 by Zoƫ

When I was younger, I was really into those “Draw 50” books. Draw 50 cats, draw 50 dogs, draw 50 whatevers. I’m not good at drawing at all and pretty much can only copy simple line drawings, but I was still really into those books. Also doodle books.

Doodletopia Fairies by Christopher Hart is another book in this vein. When I received it, however, the first thing I noticed was how large it is. This isn’t a book with just 50 fairy designs in it. There are over 100 pages of fairy-themed doodles, which is a lot more than I was expecting.

The designs are cute, and though above my skill level just like the Draw 50 books, they were still fun to play around with. The “gimmick” of this book is that you can doodle on one side of the page while you see the already-completed doodle on the other side of the page. If you’re one for drawing in books, then this is the book for you. I thought that this system worked pretty well. It was especially nice to be able to use pre-made guidelines to base the doodles on.

Look for some doodles from this book on my Instagram coming soon!

I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Comment

