Top 10 books of 2017 (first half)

3

December 13, 2016 by Zoƫ

Silver Stars by Michael Grant
Release date: January 31, 2017

This is the second book in Michael Grant’s new alternate history series. It’s World War II, but women in the US are also being drafted. I really enjoyed the first book and I’m looking forward to this one!

Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley
Release date: January 31, 2017

Many, many years ago I started trying to write a story that basically had the same plot as this book. Then I stopped writing it, but I’m glad that someone did so that I can read it.

The Great Pursuit by Wendy Higgins
Release date: March 7, 2017

I found the first book in this duology to be petty good (though not without its flaws), so I’ll be reading the second one, just to see what happens. (Less aerial silks? …Probably not.)

Hunted by Meagan Spooner
Release date: March 14, 2017

A new “Beauty and the Beast” retelling! I will read them all!

A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi
Release date: March 28, 2017

This is sort of a spin-off from The Star-Touched Queen. I really liked the setting of the first book and I’m excited to see more exploration of the world.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
Release date: March 28, 2017

A new Laini Taylor book. I still can’t really tell what it’s about, but I will read it.

Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis
Release date: April 11, 2017

This is another book with a sort of confusing Goodreads blurb, but it sounds like it could incorporate a lot of interesting mythology and world building.

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
Release date: May 2, 2017

My feelings on this series are mixed, but I’ll still probably read every book in the series just to see what happens next.

The Fallen Kingdom by Elizabeth May
Release date: June 13, 2017

I’ve been reading this series from the start. I really liked the first book, not so much the second, but I’m going to see it through to the end.

Now I Rise by Kiersten White
Release date: June 27, 2017

I just really like the idea behind this series. A lot went on in the first book, so I’m expecting good things from the second.

Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

3 thoughts on “Top 10 books of 2017 (first half)

  1. I can’t wait to read Given to the Sea! :)

    Lauren @ Always Me

  2. Sebastian says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed “Front Lines”, I still have in on my TBR! Today is the first time I’ve seen the cover for the sequel and OMG it’s so pretty! :D

  3. […] book with a winter world Top 5 new-to-me authors in 2016 TBR for the holidays Top 10 anticipated books in the first half of 2017 Top 5 books of […]

Comment

