Animorphs Re-Read: The Message

Leave a comment

March 18, 2017 by Zoë

Random Thoughts
Cassie is not well-liked in the fandom, for reasons that I understand but have never really felt myself. When I was first reading the series, I liked her just as much as the other characters and definitely connected with her more than characters like Marco and Tobias. Which is all to say that I don’t have any problems with Cassie or Cassie books. We’ll talk about her later in the series later, but honestly I like her.

However, I hadn’t re-read this book in a long time, so unlike the first three books there were a lot of tings that I’d forgotten. For example, after Marco’s I-can’t-swim-I’m-in-the-ocean experience, Cassie goes over to his house to talk to him about it. Which is a weird thing for her to do. She’s not friends with Marco. She’s friend with Jake and he’s friends with Jake but they’re not friends with each other and she has no reason to go over to his house. But she still does. And it is weird, but it’s also a nice moment between the two of them. I don’t remember them ever interacting much, but I’m going to to keep an eye out for more of it.

We also learn a lot more about how bad Marco’s home life is in this book. It’s hinted at before, but it’s interesting that we see the worst of it not in Jake’s book but in Cassie’s book. I’m really excited to see what’s going to happen in Marco’s book. (Which comes next. Yay!)

I also forgot how central the whales were to this book, which was a little…weird. I like the idea and the intent, I suppose, but they keep hitching rides on whales’ backs, which seems weird to me. So weird that I didn’t even remember it until I got to that part.

On another note, there were some cute Jake/Cassie moments in this book that I’d totally forgotten about and that reminded me a little of them later in the series when they’re a bit more established and able to talk about things about more.

This is also the first time that Ax mentions he wasn’t paying attention school, which I also didn’t remember at all. I thought that started popping up a lot later.

Also, finally, what are the two other races (besides the Andalites) that are fighting the Yeerks? Ax says that there are two other races, but I don’t remember them at all.

Necessity to the series
This is the book where they pick up Ax, so this is absolutely necessary! (And I forgot how funny Ax is, even right at the beginning when he’s being such a stoic warrior.)

Quotations

  • “I mean, are we getting some sort of message from the Little Mermaid? What are we supposed to do about it?”
  • “I’m scared all the time now, Cassie,” he said at last. “I’m scared to fight the Yeerks, and I’m scared of what will happen if I don’t.”
  • “Yes, but can you decide to do nothing? That’s a decision, too.”
  • None of us was indestructible.
  • <Who is your prince?>

    One by one we looked at Jake.

    “Oh, give me a break,” Jake said. “I am not anyone’s prince.”

    But the Andalite had stepped forward. He bowed his head and lowered his tail. <I will fight for you, Prince Jake, until I can return to my cousins.>

  • <Yeerks are killers of worlds. Murderers of all life. Hated and feared throughout the galaxy. They are a plague that spreads from world to world, leaving nothing but desolation and slavery and misery in their wake.>
  • “Five kids against an enemy that has destroyed half the galaxy? Five of us?”

    Ax gave that smile, the one he did with his eyes. <Six, my Prince,> he said.

    “Six. Well then,” Marco said with grim sarcasm, “with six it shouldn’t be any problem.”

  • “I chose male because I am male. Word. Male. Is that a good choice? Ch-oy-ce? Chuh chuh choy-yuss?” He twisted his lips around and stuck out his tongue. “Strange,” he said.
  • “Ax?” I said. “Don’t talk to any strangers on the way home, okay?”

Animorphs: The Radio Drama, UNCENSORED
Part one
Part two

Comment

