Review: How to Pack by Hitha Palepu

Leave a comment

April 10, 2017 by Zoƫ

I am someone who overthinks packing and then overpacks. I like to have choices and I like to make sure that I have choices even when I’m travelling. And what if I’m forgetting something? Better to pack everything that I think I might need.

How to Pack by Hitha Palepu provides helpful tips not only for overpackers like me, but also underpackers and people of other packing leanings. It’s geared toward women, with tips on how much of each article of clothing to bring, how to fold clothes, and more. Because I know that I overpack, I also like to read a lot of packing tips. Having read a lot of articles on packing, I still found some new tips in this book. For example, now I know how to fold a jacket.

The best part of the book is the packing list system that it provides. Palepu lays out a standard packing list that you fill out and customize for each of your trips depending on weather, type of trip, number of days, and other sorts of things. The packing list layout is really nice and I plan on using it for all my future trips.

Palepu also lays out several sample packing lists for different sorts of trips so that you can get an idea of how to use her standard packing list. They’re also helpful in providing inspiration on how to mix and match different pieces of clothing to create new outfits.

Of course not all the tips will work for you (I’m only going to wear a shirt one time before washing it, thank you), but you’ll definitely find some tips in this book that you can put into practice in your own packing endeavors. Whether it’s advice on accessorizing or advice on choosing the right suitcase, there’s something in here for you.

I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Comment

