Review: The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

Leave a comment

April 17, 2017 by Zoë

Lo knows that she met someone in the cruise ship cabin next door, but there is no one on the manifest and the cabin is now empty. She knows she’s not crazy, though. She can’t be. And she knows she heard something: a splash, a struggle? The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware follows Lo as she tires to figure out what’s going on, before trouble comes for her too.

The Good
As with all the thrillers I’ve reviewed lately, there’s something about this book that kept me reading. I wanted to find out what had happened. I wanted to know the answer to the mystery.

The Bad
I found Lo to be a very annoying character. I understand that part of the tension of the story was supposed to come from her questioning her own mental state, but it didn’t work for me. I wanted more rational decisions and less drinking and deciding to sleep.

As for the other characters, I had a hard time getting a feel for them as well. I didn’t feel like I could follow along in a traditional mystery way because I just didn’t understand enough about their personalities.

The ending also felt a bit rushed for me. Tension ramped up to the point where the culprit was a huge, powerful bad guy, and then suddenly everything was resolved.The pacing could have been better.

The Verdict
I enjoyed this somewhat, and if you like thrillers you probably will like this. it definitely has good elements, such as the enclosed location. As I think I’ve said before, I think I’m just not really cut out for thrillers. And yet I keep reading them because they just sound so interesting.

“Sometimes it all just seems too much–do you know what I mean? Such a performance.”

Comment

