Top five things I want to see more of in books

1

May 9, 2017 by Zoƫ

1. Science fiction and fantasy set in Southeast Asia
So if you know anything about my personal life, you know Southeast Asia is my pet region of the world. And sci-fi/fantasy is my pet genre. I want more combinations of the two! A lot more! I can recommend The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi, but other than that and some books in Southeast Asian languages, I’m still searching.

2. Half-Chinese protagonists
I spent years when I was younger searching for books with half-Asian main characters. There are more out there than there used to be, but I’d love to see more representation.

3. Non-cliche female-female friendships
It’s so easy for female-female friendships, particularly in YA books, to fall into the pattern of the sidekick who helps to bring the MC out of her shell. Meanwhile, the sidekick has some of her own drama that the MC overlooks, they have a fight, then they make up. This is old and boring. I want more friendships and I want more complex friendships!

4. Changelings
I am a sucker for changeling stories. I want all of them. Changelings stories in the past, changeling stories in the present. I’d even go for changeling stories in the future. Give me all the changelings.

5. Selkies
Maybe selkies and mermaids are slightly cliche now, but I am not over selkies. Also books about the children of selkies. What are their lives like? How complicated are they? Do they know? Etc., etc., etc.

Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

One thought on “Top five things I want to see more of in books

  1. the bookworm says:

    Great list! Selkies yes.

Comment

