Ten #AsianLit books on my TBR

Leave a comment

June 6, 2017 by Zoƫ

Asian Lit Bingo has wrapped up, so here are some of the Asian-themed books that I’ve yet to read.

Sightseeing by Rattawut Lapcharoensap

A short story collection of stories set in contemporary Thailand. I’m super excited to read this one and need to get to it before I visit Thailand!

The Three-Body Problem by Liu Cixin, translated by Ken Liu

I want to read more translated science fiction, especially from Asia and this book has been hyped so much that I have to read it.

The Woman Who Breathed Two Worlds by Selina Siak Chin Yoke

This apparently was published last year through Amazon Crossing, but somehow I missed it. It’s historical fiction about the Nyonya community in Malaya, which is something I really want to read more about.

Map of the Invisible World by Tash Aw

As you can see, this list is full of Southeast Asian fiction. Sorry, not sorry. This particular Tash Aw book has been on my TBR for soo long now, but I keep pushing it back for other things.

Beauty is a Wound by Eka Kurniawan, translated by Annie Tucker

I should probably just read this one in Indonesian, but I’m really interested in the Indonesian stuff that’s being translated right now, so translated version it is.

The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu

I read “The Paper Menagerie” forever ago and it was so good. Judging by all his translating, Ken Liu seems like he’s an up-and-coming voice in the Asian American community.

Empress by Shan Sa

This is another one that’s been on my list for a long time, about a female empress of China. Historical fiction and court politics!

Four Reigns by Kukrit Pramoj, translated by Tulachandra

Another court politics book. Can you tell that I’m on a big Thailand kick and a big translated books kick?

Soy Sauce for Beginners by Kirstin Chen

You’ve seen this before on my TBR. Here it is. Still unread. Soon!

The Bondmaid by Catherine Lim

Another Chinese in Southeast Asia book. Can you tell that’s another topic that I just keep reading about?

Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Comment

