Review: The Fallen Kingdom by Elizabeth May

3

June 12, 2017 by Zoë

In the final installment of the Falconer trilogy, the world is falling apart, literally. In The Fallen Kingdom by Elizabeth May, Aileana must reunite with friend and foe alike in order to put the world back together before it’s too late. Along the way, she must learn to control new powers that have been bestowed upon her that threaten to break her completely.

The Good
I enjoyed the first book in this series but felt that the second book did not meet my expectations. This final book, however, was great. I enjoyed it much more than the second book and, for the most part, thought it made for a good conclusion to the series. The tone has changed significantly from book one, but after book two this was a good way to wrap everything up. Stakes were certainly higher and relationships between key characters (see: Sorcha) were explored in deeper ways.

I also found the world building in this book to be more coherent. There was more thought put into the history of the world (for obvious plot-related reasons), but I liked this a lot.

The Bad
Kiaran was something of a let down in this book. In the previous book, it’s revealed that he’s the king of the Unseelie court, and thus you’d expect all sorts of bad things from him when he takes his true place as king. (Small spoiler alert:) This doesn’t really happen. He’s pretty much the same Kiaran and still as obsessed with Aileana as ever, even though he’s also Unseelie. I’d have liked more conflict within him, but it really was closer to Edward’s oh-your-blood-smells-so-good angst.

The twist at the end was also a little too nice, but I guess there should be nice things at the end of young adult books.

The Verdict
I thought this book held together much better than book two and I enjoyed it as much as book one. Definitely hang in there to see this series through to its conclusion!

“I’m still human. I’m still me. Bleeding is what mortals do.”

I received an electronic copy of this book through Edelweiss for this review.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Fallen Kingdom by Elizabeth May

  1. @lynnsbooks says:

    I finished this one a few days ago and my review will be up shortly. I think this was probably my favourite of the series – it had the dark feel of No.2 but also this crazy chaotic feel whenever the fae realm was in play.
    Lynn :D

  2. […] This might have been my favorite in the series. Check out my full review here. […]

Comment

