Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Leave a comment

July 6, 2017 by Zoë

This tag was created by Chami @ ReadLikeWildFire and Ely @ Ely Jayne. It’s where we look back at (and freak out over) the books we’ve read during the past six months.


I didn’t get tagged for this, but I want to start doing more tags and this one looks fun! If you’re interested, feel free to participate too!


2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
Z has
read 46 books toward
her goal of
100 books.
hide

I’m a little behind on this challenge, but I’m not worried because I’m reading so much this summer and I have a ton of books in my to-read pile.


Best book you’ve read so far in 2017

I made a whole post about this, but my favorite might be Hunted by Meagan Spooner. I love the Beauty and the Beast archetype and this book was really well-written. You cand find my review of it here.

Best sequel you’ve read so far this year

So Monster by Michael Grant hasn’t come out yet, but I managed to get my hands on an ARC and I loved it! Look for my review closer to the release date, but for now know that you should be excited!

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

From a Certain Point of View comes out at the beginning of October. It’s an anthology of Star Wars short stories told from the point of view of minor characters. Oh, and the author lineup is really exciting. Meg Cabot is writing a Star Wars short story? Yes, please! I need this now.

Biggest disappointment

RoseBlood by A. G. Howard was supposed to be a Phantom of the Opera retelling. I was psyched, especially because of the girl on the cover. Was this a gender-bending retelling?? The book was really bad, though, and also not a retelling. See my review here.

Biggest surprise

And All the Stars by Andrea K. Höst has been on my TBR list for years and I finally got around to it only because it satisfied one of the keywords in the Monthly Keyword Reading Challenge. I wasn’t expecting much, but it was incredibly good. Look for my review coming in August!

Favorite new author (debut or new to you)

So technically I read Roshani Chokshi’s The Star-Touched Queen last year, but it wasn’t until I read Death and Night that I really fell in love with her writing. She got me invested in a romance, which hasn’t happened in a really long time, so she must be good! I’m excited to follow her as she continues to write.

Newest fictional crush

Meh, none? I don’t really do fictional crushes. Although Briar Moss still continues to be my go-to answer for this question. Just because he’s such a playa.

Newest favorite character

Thinking about questions like this, it becomes clear to me that I’ve outgrown my fandom days. I still love the characters I once did (hello, Rosethorn), but I guess I’m not really adding new obsessions anymore? So I don’t have an answer for this one either.

Book that made you cry

I can’t remember any of the books I read this year making me cry, but that’s not too surprising. I don’t cry over books frequently.

Book that made you happy

I mentioned Death and Night by Roshani Chokshi already, but I’m mentioning it again because I was so surprised to be into a romance. It was pretty and really did make me happy.

Favorite book to film adaptation

I think I’ve only watched two adaptations this year: Thirteen Reasons Why and The Martian. Thirteen Reasons Why was…pretty bad, and I haven’t read The Martian, so I can’t really judge the movie. I’m hard to please with book to movie adaptations, though.

Favorite post you have done this year

I wrote this post expounding on The Bermudez Triangle by Maureen Johnson, which was pretty fun. I enjoyed talking about a book that I hadn’t just read in more detail than a simple list.

Most beautiful book you’ve bought this year

I don’t think I’ve bought any books this year. I don’t buy a lot of books, so that’s why.

What book do you need to read before the end of the year

Ummmm there’s a new His Dark Materials book coming out. Obviously this is something that I’m dying to read before the end of the year. I guess Lyra is a baby in this one, which I’m not too into, but I’m still super excited anyway.

Comment

