Review: Huntress by Malinda Lo

Leave a comment

July 17, 2017 by Zoë

Kaede, Taisin, and some others set off as a small delegation from the human world to travel into the fairy realm and meet the Fairy Queen. Huntress by Malinda Lo follows the group as they journey to the Fairy Queen and learn about the tasks that they must complete in order to restore balance both to the fairy and the human realms.

The Good
This book is set in the same world as Ash, which I did not like. At the time, I didn’t think there was much that made the book interesting or unique. I recently heard that Huntress includes Asian and lesbian characters (which I guess Ash did too, though I didn’t realize it at the time), so I thought I’d give it a try.

I definitely enjoyed the book more than Ash, especially through the first half of the book. I found the world building more interesting and full than what I can remember of Ash. I was also more interested in the characters than I was with the characters in Ash.

The Bad
First of all, the POV shifted constantly, which was very, very distracting. Sometimes it shifted in the same paragraph, which was not good.

Secondly, The climax of the book comes on so fast and is over so soon. And then there’s a second, weird climax. And then the romantic tension is suddenly and somewhat inexplicably wrapped up. And then the book ends. Basically, the pacing in the back end of the book felt off, especially when compared to the first part of the book.

Some reviewers also have found fault with the romance and labelled it as instalove. I don’t think it was really instalove. Instead, it was almost a time-traveller’s paradox sort of love: if you see that you’re in love with someone in the future, do you fall in love with them because of that vision or was it always going to happen? Oddly, this way of setting up a love story bothers me less than instalove, but I do agree that it’s not the best way to go about it.

The Verdict
This was a pretty standard fantasy quest story. There were some interesting aspects of the world building, but the pacing at the end really hampered my ability to enjoy the whole book.

“You have a strong heart, but even the strongest heart can be tempted.”

Comment

