[Biannual Bibliothon Day 4] 3 Star Ratings

1

July 26, 2017 by Zoë

This post is part of the Biannual Bibliothon. This challenge is hosted by Bursting with Books.


First of all, here are three recent reviews of mine that all round to three stars: The Space Between the Stars by Anne Corlett, Factory Girl by Josanne La Valley, and Huntress by Malinda Lo. If you go through those reviews, you’ll hopefully get a good idea of how I feel about a three-star book.

On my review policy page, I also list three-star books as “Enjoyable but I won’t read it again.” This is a pretty fair summary of how I use a three star rating. They’re not books I loved, but they’re not books that I hated. Basically, they’re everything in between, which means that a lot of books that I’ve read could all end up being three stars. In the end, though, they’re all books that had some major aspect that made me feel meh.

But ultimately three star reviews from me are not bad reviews. They’re average. Most books are going to be three stars because most books I won’t read again but I also don’t hate. So if you see me giving one of your favorite books a three star review, know that it just wasn’t for me but also know that it isn’t a black mark against that book.

One thought on “[Biannual Bibliothon Day 4] 3 Star Ratings

  1. This makes sense! 3 stars seems to commonly just be average for most people. I’m glad it’s not a terrible rating coming from you. 🙂

Comment

