[Biannual Bibliothon Day 5] Character Connections

Leave a comment

July 27, 2017 by Zoƫ

This post is part of the Biannual Bibliothon. This challenge is hosted by Inside my Minds.


Talk of diversity and its importance isn’t new in the book community. Nevertheless, let me add my voice to the discussion to share its importance to me.

The first book I ever read with a half-Chinese protagonist was Nothinb But the Truth by Justina Chen. While Patty and I are nothing alike as people, I was still blown away while reading it. Seeing my heritage in a book made me feel like I had a place. Sure, I didn’t relate or really understand the bits about Taiwanese identity, but this was still a story about a girl who looked like me. As a teen in a predominantely white community, this was so important.

Diverse books are important. I read constantly all through school about all sorts of characters, but the experience of reading about a character like me still sticks with me even though I read this book more than ten years ago.

Comment

